Baking Recipes

Gluten Free Dog Treats

Hokie with his treat!

To say I love my dog, would be to say the sky is “bluish.” Aka an understatement. I love the little mush that he is more than is probably natural or normal. BUT- I don’t apologize for it 🙂

I also love my friend’s dogs. Soo very much! I was going to a good friend’s house for dinner and she reminded me it was her dog’s birthday the same day. What did that make me think of? I need to make GF dog treats ASAP. So, that’s what I did!!

Safe to say, both her dog and mine genuinely approved of the recipe. I checked each ingredient and made sure it was dog friendly. I was worried about the molasses (even though it’s just 1 tablespoon), but after research, I realized that the molasses I used is the safest option for dogs (picture below). It has 16grams of sugar per tablespoon. This recipe yielded 28 treats. Aka- way less than 1 gram of sugar per treat. It was absolutely the healthiest dog treat I’ve ever seen. And, I used natural PB with no added sugars. This was a winning & healthy recipe for all!! One that dog owners can feel good about giving their fur babies.

Winston in his birthday outfit; posing for a pic with a treat bribe waiting for him.
This is the Molasses I used- found at Aldi

Ingredients:
1.5 cups of GF flour
1 cup of natural, no sugar added smooth peanut butter
1 tbsp of unsulphured dark molasses
1 tbsp baking powder

Directions:
1- Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2- Mix all ingredients until very well blended.
3- Between two sheets of parchment paper, roll out dough.
4- using cookie cutter, make your shapes and line them on cookie sheets lined with parchment paper.
5- Bake for 15-17 mins at 350 degrees.

Final result!

xo-E

Leave a comment